Eastern medichine postulated three types of Chi:


  • Sky (the main)- consists of powers, with the help of which sky bodies influence the Earth.
  • Earth Chi – which is ruled by the sky (the magnetic field of the Earth and the underground warmth)
  • Finally, in the frames of the Earth Chi there is a Chi field of every singular person, animal, plant.


This field is always trying to find a equilibrium. Every person processes two forms of Chi:


  • Inherited Chi
  • Acquired Chi



Inherited Chi 


We get from our parents and keep in kidneys-shen’. On our own we are not able to fulfil the reserve of initial Chi. It is strictly limited. The amount of Chi cannot be small or big, it is strictly individual.



Acquired Chi 


Is constantly renewing in us in the form of air (breathing) or in the form of food we are eating.


True Chi


All the types of human Chi make up a true Chi, which flows in organism in special vessels – channels, meridians, and collaterals. If these vessels are blocked (because of excess or shortage of Chi), the person becomes ill. 


Medical treatment, acupuncture, massage are exterior ways of influencing the meridians. 


Chi is moving in the organism in a defined direction, breach of its circulation causes various illness, localising in any part of the organism. Under normal conditions the direction of Chi movement in the body coincides with the direction of Chi movement in nature: in Spring, in the morning – upwards and from left to right, from the depth to the surface; in autumn, in the evening – downwards, from the surface and in the direction of the depth. In the body, Chi is moving alongside a system of meridians and collaterals which link the surface (epidermis) of the body with its inner part, the top part of the body with its lower and all the connected organisms. These meridians sometimes coincide with the blood vessels or nerves, but they are not part of blood or nervous systems. They cross over all the human body, uniting different its parts, which become interdependent this way. There are 12 main meridians that correspond to 12 inner organs. 6 of which refer to Yin organs and the other 6 – to Yan’ organs. 


Energy Chi is represented in two forms that are called as follows:


  • Chi Yin (negative) 

Yin organs - are dense organs of energy restoring and distribution (lungs, pancreas, spleen, heart, liver and kidneys).


  • Yan (positive) 

Yan organs - are hollow organs, which fulfil secretion function (stomach, bowels and bladder)


Although, in this case we should clearly understand that the notions ‘-‘ and ‘+’ are relative and have sense only in case of interaction and co-ordination with each other. All the possible pairs of opposites may be organised under these two notions. 



Yin-Yan Theory


Yin-Yan theory is a philosophic conception, which came into being during the times of Yin’-Chgou dynasty (6th century- 221 B.C.). ‘In’ and Yan depict all the forms and features found in the Universe’ (book ‘I. Czin’). In treatise ‘Su Ven’’ it is said: Water and Fire represent two opposite qualities. 


Thus, al the main features of fire such as heat, movements upwards and outside, brightness, excitability and power – refer to Yan. 

All the main features of water – cold, slowly, dimness, movements downwards and inside refer to In’. Analogous, all the functions and all the manifestations of vital activity may be divided according to Yin-Yan features. 


It should be noted that one side of the phenomenon is not able to exist without the other, that is why Yin-Yan are closely united and only together form the symbol (see, symbol Yin’-Yan). 


For example, think over the following: how could whatever, being on the right, stand if there were nothing on the left? How could the sky be above you, if the Earth was not under your feet?